As I flip the calendar to June, I want to remember the loveliness of this May’s flowers:

The perennials I planted last year have burst out into glory.

My dianthus were ridiculously lavish this spring:

The fuschia my mom brought me –I hung it in a more sheltered spot and am watering it religiously, trying to avoid frying this one in the sun as I’ve done in the past:

Bedding plants that I spent about a week gradually planting (with some help from my mom) while my girl napped and her brothers played:

These purple spiky things (of course I don’t remember the name) are a new venture:

And I always come back to the old-fashioned freshness of red geraniums.

I’d like to plant a vegetable garden this year (it’s been a few years), but I haven’t found the right spot in my yard. All the tucked-away spots are too shady, and all the sunny spots are too prominent. But I’m hankering for the taste of home-grown tomatoes this summer.  Maybe I’ll find a site yet.

